Frank DeVol and the Rainbow Strings CD

$ 10.98

FRANK DeVOL AND THE RAINBOW STRINGS: The Old Sweet Songs of Christmas. CD

  • For Four Decades, Frank DeVol Was One of the Most Prolific and Successful Arrangers and Composers in All of Popular Music 
  • Credits Include the Arrangement to Nat Cole’s “Nature Boy,” Plus Soundtracks/ Themes to Kiss Me Deadly, The Longest Yard, Pillow Talk, The Brady Bunch and My Three Sons
  • The Old Sweet Songs of Christmas Was the Only Charting Album DeVol Released During His Long Career
  • Unusual Orchestration Excluding Brass and Woodwinds and All Medley Program Make This Album Unique Among Christmas Releases
  • Liner Notes by Chip Arcuri, Webmaster/ Owner of The Yule
  • Added Photos
  • Remastered by Maria Triana at Battery Studios in NYC 

What do the soundtracks to Kiss Me Deadly, The Longest Yard, The Dirty Dozen, Pillow Talk and Whatever Happened to Baby Jane, the theme songs to the TV shows My Three Sons, The Brady Bunch and Family Affair, and the arrangement to Nat “King” Cole’s “Nature Boy” have in common? They were all composed and/or arranged by Frank DeVol, one of the most prolific and successful behind-the-scenes maestros in the history of the music industry. Save for the occasional acting gig (most notably as fictional bandleader Happy Kyne on Fernwood 2-Night), rarely did DeVol step out from the studio to take his rightful place in the spotlight. In fact, the only charting album released under his own name is this one, The Old Sweet Songs of Christmas, which came out in 1960 and quickly became a favorite of Christmas music lovers everywhere as one of the truly great holiday-themed orchestral records ever made. It’s unique in its simplicity—there are no brass or woodwinds here, just string punctuated by occasional percussion or piano, and the fact that every song is a medley allows DeVol and his orchestra to cover a remarkable amount of Christmas repertoire. Gorgeously remastered by Maria Triana at Battery Studios in New York, and featuring liner notes by Chip Arcuri, webmaster at The Yule, the reissue of The Old Sweet Songs of Christmas—courtesy of the Christmas elves at Real Gone Music—is a long-awaited gift for holiday music lovers everywhere.



1. Ring Christmas Bells/The First Noel/Jolly Old St. Nicholas

2. We Three Kings of Orient Are/Good King Wenceslas/O Tannenbaum

3. Silent Night, Holy Night/Hark! The Herald Angels Sing/O Little Town of Bethlehem

4. Joy to the World/Away in a Manger/God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen

5. It Came upon the Midnight Clear/Deck the Halls with Boughs of Holly

6. Adeste Fideles (O Come All Ye Faithful)/O Holy Night

7. Here Comes Santa Claus/March of the Toys

8. The Christmas Song (Merry Christmas to You)/Twelve Days of Christmas

9. It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas/Toyland

10. White Christmas/We Wish You a Merry Christmas

11. Winter Wonderland/Skater’s Waltz

12. Silver Bells/Jingle Bells

Related Products