Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Grateful Dead Dick's Picks 12 (6-LP Set)

$ 149.99

GRATEFUL DEAD: Dick’s Picks Vol. 12—Providence Civic Center 6/26/74 & Boston Garden 6/28/74 (Limited, Hand-Numbered 180-Gram 6-LP Set)

When we were offered the most welcome opportunity of choosing another “virgin” (as in never released on vinyl before) volume from the Dick’s Picks catalog, we did our Dead diligence, combing through the many chat rooms online to see which one the fans really wanted to see come out on LP. It will come as no surprise that opinions were varied and vehement…but a consensus emerged that Dick’s Picks Vol. 12—Providence Civic Center 6/26/74 & Boston Garden 6/28/74 was the one. Which is interesting, because that Pick is a little different, combining the second sets of two different nights instead of offering a single show. But it’s the exception that proves the rule—the playing is so extraordinary, and the repertoire so unusual, that one can understand why Dick Latvala played more curator than archivist here. Side A picks up the second set from Providence three songs in, featuring a short jam that leads into what many have labeled the most extraordinary live version of “China Cat Sunflower” ever recorded, complete with a sublime transition (“Mud Love Buddy Jam” a.k.a. “Mind Left Body Jam”) into “I Know You Rider.” The revelatory moments continue throughout the Providence set, highlighted by a dazzling, 15-minute “Spanish Jam.” But the second set of the Boston show—which appears here complete, after a superb encore performance of “Eyes of the World” from Providence—is the one that has passed into legend among Dead fans (a performance of Phil Lesh and Ned Lagin’s electronic music piece “Seastones” provides an appropriately adventurous interlude). The set boasts one of the most renowned live jams of the band’s career, a flawless, 14-minute “Weather Report Suite: Prelude/Pt. 1/Pt. 2-Let It Grow” leading into a 27-minute “Jam” that is simply one of the most far-ranging, telepathic improvisations ever played by, well, anybody. That this set also includes a separation of the “Sunshine Daydream” section from “Sugar Magnolia” for only the second time ever is just gravy.

This is, of course, a “Wall of Sound” concert, so we’re working with something of a special audio source to begin with. So, we enlisted Jeffrey Norman to master the release for vinyl from the original tapes (pictured on the enclosed insert), and enlisted Clint Holley and Dave Polster over at Well Made Music to cut the lacquers. Gotta Groove Records, our manufacturer of choice, has pressed the 6 LPs on to 180-gram black vinyl housed inside a two-piece hardshell box, and we have a little stencil surprise for ya on Side L. Limited edition of 3000 hand-numbered copies and you, our customers, are getting first crack! And you won’t be disappointed…this is one beautiful-sounding box set, full of Wall of Sound wonders.

Side A


1.     Jam

2.     China Cat Sunflower

3.     Mud Love Buddy Jam a.k.a. Mind Left Body Jam

4.     I Know You Rider

Side B

1.     Beer Barrel Polka

2.     Truckin’

3.     Other One Jam

Side C

1.     Spanish Jam

Side D

       1.   Wharf Rat

2.     Sugar Magnolia

Side E

1.     Eyes of the World


2.     Seastones

Side F

1.     Sugar Magnolia

2.     Scarlet Begonias

3.     Big River

Side G

1.     To Lay Me Down

2.     Me and My Uncle

3.     Row Jimmy

Side H

1.     Weather Report Suite: Prelude/Pt. 1/Pt. 2-Let It Grow

Side I

       1.    Jam

Side J

1.     Jam (cont.)

2.     U.S. Blues

Side K

       1.   Promised Land

2.     Goin’ Down the Road Feeling Bad

3.     Sunshine Daydream

4.     Ship of Fools



Related Products