Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Cannonball Adderley Quintet Music, You All CD

$ 16.98


Julian “Cannonball” Adderley first gained notice as the bluesier saxophone voice on Miles Davis’ Kind of Blue (John Coltrane being the other), and in the late ‘60s and early ’70s, he was engaged in an ongoing artistic conversation with Miles, often trading musicians with him and taking the electric innovations of Bitches Brew and filtering them with through his own earthy sensibility. The height of Cannonball’s fusion phase arguably came in 1970, a year that yielded no less than three live albums—all produced by David Axelrod—that have since ascended to cult favorite status. Drawn from the same 1970 Troubadour performances that yielded the album Black Messiah (also issued by Real Gone Music), and featuring the same line-up (the two Adderley brothers, Cannon and Nat; keyboardist George Duke; bassist Walter Booker; drummer Roy McCurdy, and special guests guitarist Mike Deasy, percussionist Airto Moreira and saxman Ernie Watts), Music, You All displayed the same uncompromisingly eclectic rock/soul/jazz fusion as did its companion release. But on Music. You All, Cannonball’s warmly iconoclastic stage personality really comes to the fore…witness the two tracks simply entitled “Cannon Raps!” And George Duke fans will flip over this album; check his solo on “Capricorn” for starters. One of those live albums that REALLY makes you wish you were there!


1. The Brakes

2. Cannon Raps

3. Capricorn

4. Walk Tall

5. Oh, Babe

6. Cannon Raps

7. Music, You All

8. The Scene

Related Products