Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Claudia Lennear CD

$ 29.98 $ 36.98


  • Claudia Lennear Is Featured in the New Documentary 20 Feet from Stardom
  • One of the Most Decorated Backup Singers in Rock & Soul History
  • Worked with Leon Russell, George Harrison, Joe Cocker and a Host of Other Superstar Artists & Albums
  • Inspired the Rolling Stones' "Brown Sugar" and David Bowie's "Lady Grinning Soul"
  • CD Debut for Her Only Solo Album
  • Features Jim Dickinson's Dixie Flyers, Ry Cooder, Allen Toussaint, Jim Keltner and Spooner Oldham
  • Real Gone Reissue Includes Notes by Pat Thomas Featuring Quotes from Claudia and Photos from Her Private Collection 

Calling Claudia Lennear’s appearance in 20 Feet from Stardom, the documentary about the great unsung backup singers in rock ‘n’ roll, a “star turn” may be a contradiction in terms, but if you find her riveting on screen you’re in good company—not only did she inspire Mick Jagger to write “Brown Sugar” (and David Bowie to write “Lady Grinning Soul”), but Jagger calls her “very hot” and a “beautiful girl” in the film! Claudia made her reputation singing as one of the “Shelter People” that Leon Russell used as session musicians on his Shelter label; she also sang on Joe Cocker’s Mad Dogs and Englishmen tour and on George Harrison’s Concert for Bangla Desh among many other projects (there was also that, ahem, photo spread in Playboy). But for those seeking a pure taste of her singular talent, this 1973 album, her only solo release, is the place to be; side one features her with members of Jim Dickinson’s Dixie Flyers and Ry Cooder, side two finds her singing songs written and arranged by the great Allen Toussaint, with such legends as Jim Keltner and Spooner Oldham along for the funky ride. Our Real Gone reissue features notes by Pat Thomas featuring quotes from Claudia herself and, yes, photos from her private archive. CD debut and an extremely timely one!


1.  It Ain’t Easy

2.  Sing with the Children

3.  Sister Angela

4.  Not Atall

5.  Casey Jones

6.  Goin’ Down

7.  From a Whisper to a Scream

8.  Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky

9.  What’d I Do Wrong

10..  Goin’ Down

Related Products