Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

The South Side Movement S/T LP

$ 21.99

THIS IS A PRE-ORDER. THE ITEM WILL SHIP BEFORE THE 03/03/23 STREET DATE. PLEASE NOTE BY PRE-ORDERING THIS ITEM YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR IT NOW. WHEN ORDERING PLEASE ONLY PURCHASE 03/03/23  ITEMS ON YOUR ORDER. IF YOU WANT TO ORDER OTHER ITEMS PLEASE ORDER ON ANOTHER ORDER SO THOSE ITEMS ARE NOT DELAYED. Please Note: The industry is experiencing longer turnaround times than usual. Expected shipping dates are based on encountering no unexpected delays due to manufacturing issues or shipping back-ups and are subject to change. Image is a mock up and may slightly differ from the finished product.

This 1973 gem is another one of those obscure ‘70s soul-funk albums released on a small independent label that has gone on to become a crate-digging favorite and a huge inspiration to modern-day hip hop artists and beyond. Chicago-based The South Side Movement began as the backing band for the Sam & Dave-inspired soul duo Simtec & Wylie; their self-titled debut on the Scepter imprint Wand—much of it written by Chicago label owner and producer James Vanleer—scored a top 20 R&B hit with “I’ Been Watchin’ You,” and they went on to make a couple of other records before disbanding in the mid-‘70s. So, your basic one-hit wonder, right? Well, not exactly…while The South Side Movement never reached the same level of commercial success, that one hit has been sampled by—are you ready for this?—The Beastie Boys, Beck, Erykah Badu, Jadakiss, and many more. The rest of the album is very tasty Windy City soul-funk, with an unexpectedly great cover of Stevie Wonder’s “Superstition” a highlight. First-ever LP reissue, pressed in clearwater blue vinyl!

A1. I’ Been Watchin’ You
A2. Love Turned Me Loose
A3. La Dee Da
A4. Have a Little Mercy
A5. Can You Get to That
B1. You’re Gonna Lose My Love
B2. Come On and Love Me
B3. Everlasting Thrill
B4. Superstition
B5. Mud Wind

Related Products