Axe Rock ’N' Roll Party--The Complete Atco Recordings CD

$ 11.98

Formed by Ex-Members of Babyface, and Led by Guitarist Bobby Barth (Later of Blackfoot), the Florida Band Axe Put Out a String of Minor Pop-Metal Classics in the Late ’70s and Early ‘80s

Inked to MCA in 1979, Axe Really Hit Their Stride When They Brought In Bassist Wayne Haner and Signed to Atco in 1981

Their Two Albums for Atco, Offering and Nemesis, O ered an Irresistible Heartland Rock Recipe of Good-Time Boogie Metal and Biker Rock Blended with Southern Rock and ’80 Keyboard Cheese

Real Gone Music’s New Collection Rock ’N’ Roll Party— The Complete Atco Recordings Includes Both Albums Plus a Bonus Track, “Midnight”

Features Such Great Tunes as “Rock ’N’ Roll Party in the Streets,” “Girls, Girls, Girls,” and “Heat in the Street”

Liner Notes by Scott Schinder

An American Answer to Judas Priest and Motörhead

21 Tracks

It really was a rock ‘n’ roll party any time this Florida band came to town! Formed from the ashes (whiskers?) of Babyface, this ve-piece led by guitarist Bobby Barth signed with MCA in the late ‘70s for two albums, but really put the pedal to the metal when they brought in Wayne Haner as bassist and inked with Atco in 1981. In fact, the two albums they recorded for the label, Offering and Nemesis, offered good-time boogie metal and biker rock years before folks like Sammy Hagar and Motley Crüe rode the formula to platinum success and excess; throw in a little Southern rock (Barth went on to join Blackfoot) and a chunk of keyboard cheese and you had a greasy recipe tailor-made for heartland success. Unfortunately, Axe also became known for a true rock ‘n’ roll tragedy; guitarist Mike Osborne was killed in a car accident that also seriously injured Barth, and the band broke up soon after. But at their peak, Axe offered a uniquely American answer to period Brit-rockers like Judas Priest and Motörhead with melody to burn. This new collection offers every note Axe recorded for Atco, including the two albums plus a bonus track, “Midnight,” not to mention classic tunes like “Rock ‘N’ Roll Party in the Streets,” “Girls, Girls, Girls,” and “Heat in the Street.”. Scott Schinder’s essay puts Axe in its proper place in the American metal pantheon. Get out your air guitar, er, axe!

1. Rock 'n Roll Party in the Streets
2. Video Inspiration
3. Steal Another Fantasy
4. Jennifer
5. I Got the Fire
6. Burn the City Down
7. Now or Never
8. Holdin' On
9. Silent Soldiers
10. Heat in the Street
11. Young Hearts
12. All Through the Night
13. I Think You'll Remember Tonight
14. She's Had the Power
15. Girls, Girls, Girls
16. Eagle Flies Alone
17. Keep Playing That Rock 'N' Roll
18. Foolin' Your Mama Again
19. Let the Music Come Back
20. Masquerade
21. Midnight

Related Products