Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Billy Joe Shaver (2CD Set)

$ 39.98

BILLY JOE SHAVER: The Complete Columbia Recordings  2-CD Set

 All Three Albums Billy Joe Shaver Cut for Columbia Plus a Non-LP B-Side

 Billy Joe Shaver Has Never Been on CD

• I'm Just an Old Chunk of Coal...But I'm Gonna Be a Diamond Someday and Salt of the Earth Have Been Out of Print for Years

• Notes by Doug Freeman Include Fresh Quotes from Billy Joe Shaver

• Features Original Art from All Three Albums

• Remastered by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios

• 31 Tracks of Outlaw Country from a Texas Legend

He almost died by the hand of his father while he was still in his mother’s womb. He’s lost parts of three fingers, broke his back, suffered a heart attack and a quadruple bypass, had a steel plate put in his neck and 136 stitches in his head, fought drugs and booze, and buried his wife, son, and mother in the span of one year. He’s Billy Joe Shaver, and he doesn’t just sing outlaw country songs, he lives them. And here are three of his greatest albums plus a non-LP single side, everything he recorded for the Columbia label from 1981-1987.

1981’s I’m Just an Old Chunk of Coal (but I’m Gonna Be a Diamond Someday) is bookended by couple of stone-cold Shaver classics, the title tune and “The Road,” but the whole album comes from place deep in the soul, with Billy Joe’s son Eddy providing the guitar heat. That release has been out of print for years; Shaver’s next album, 1982’s self-titled Billy Joe Shaver, has never been on CD, an oversight particularly inexplicable since it was something of a greatest hits album featuring starkly compelling interpretations of such enduring Shaver songs as “Old Five and Dimers Like Me,” “Been to Georgia on a Fast Train,” “Ride Me Down Easy” and “How Many Hearts Must You Break.” Finally, 1987’s Salt of the Earth was his first album of new material in six years and his last recording for another six; it neatly sums up Shaver’s world view by placing the songs “You Just Can’t Beat Jesus Christ” and “The Devil Made Me Do It the First Time” back to back! It, too, has been out of print for years. 

Our Real Gone collection of these essential country music albums features the original album artwork to all three plus notes by Austin Chronicle writer Doug Freeman featuring quotes from Shaver himself. Remastered by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios, Billy Joe Shaver: The Complete Columbia Recordings presents 31 tracks of pure Texas outlaw country from a man larger than life.


Disc One

I’m Just an Old Chunk of Coal (but I’m Gonna Be a Diamond Someday)

  1.    Fit to Kill and Going Out in Style 
  2.    Blue Texas Waltz 
  3.    Saturday Night 
  4.    Ragged Old Truck 
  5.    I'm Just an Old Chunk of Coal
  6.    When the Word Was Thunderbird 
  7.    (We Are) The Cowboys 
  8.    Mexico 
  9.    It Ain't Nothing New Babe
  10.    The Road

Billy Joe Shaver

11. Amtrak 

12. Bottom Dollar 

13. Old Five and Dimers Like Me 

14. How Many Hearts Must You Break 

15. Oklahoma Wind 

 Disc Two

  1.   Ride Me Down Easy 
  2.   Tell Me Virginia 
  3.   Low Down Freedom 
  4.   One Moving Part 
  5.   I Been to Georgia on a Fast Train

Non-LP B Side

1.  Love You till the Cows Come Home

Salt of the Earth

7.   Sweet Mama 

8.   Hardworkin' Man 

9.   Manual Labor 

10. Hill Country Love Song  

11. You Just Can't Beat Jesus Christ  

12. Devil Made Me Do It the First Time 

13. Fun While It Lasted 

14. Whiteman's Watermelon  

15. Street Walkin' Woman 

16. Good News Blues

Related Products