Gary Lewis CD

$ 26.98

GARY LEWIS & THE PLAYBOYS: The Complete Liberty Singles (2-CD Set)

  • 45 Tracks, the Most Comprehensive Gary Lewis & the Playboys Collection Ever Compiled 

  • All Original Mono Singles Mixes, Most Never Before on CD 

  • Features Rare B-Sides and a Promo-Only Track, "Way Way Out" 

  • Liner Notes Feature Interviews with Bones Howe, Snuff Garrett,
    Hal Blaine, Jim Keltner and Gary Lewis Himself 

The definitive Gary Lewis & the Playboys collection is back! This 45-track anthology came and went in a heartbeat a few years ago; the critical and commercial response was so good (and continues to be—used copies sell for megabucks online) that we decided to reissue it. It’s still the ideal way to explore the recordings of one of the great singles bands of the ‘60s, featuring the A and B-side of every single they issued on the Liberty label. Many of these original mono singles mixes and most of the B-sides were completely unavailable until this collection came along, and remember, these are the mixes you heard come cracklin’ out of your radio back in the day. The annotation by Ed Osborne features interviews with producers Bones Howe and Snuff Garrett, drummers Hal Blaine and Jim Keltner, singer (and Gary’s “ghost” voice) Ron Hicklin and even Mr. Lewis himself. A Real Gone resurrection!


Disc One 

  1. This Diamond Ring
  2. Hard to Find
  3. Tijuana Wedding
  4. Count Me In
  5. Little Miss Go-Go
  6. Doin' the Flake
  7. Save Your Heart for Me
  8. Without a Word of Warning
  9. Everybody Loves a Clown
  10. Time Stands Still
  11. She's Just My Style
  12. I Won't Make That Mistake Again
  13. Sure Gonna Miss Her
  14. I Don't Wanna Say Goodnight
  15. Green Grass
  16. I Can Read Between the Lines
  17. My Heart's Symphony
  18. Tina (I Held You in My Arms)
  19. (You Don't Have to) Paint Me a Picture
  20. Looking for the Stars
  21. Way Way Out (promo-only release)
  22. Down on the Sloop John B 

Disc Two 

1.    Where Will the Words Come From

2.    May the Best Man Win

3.    The Loser (with a  Broken Heart)

4.    Ice Melts in the Sun

5.    Girls in Love

6.    Let's Be More Than Friends

7.    Jill

8.    New in Town

9.    Has She Got the Nicest Eyes

10.  Happiness

11.   Sealed with a Kiss

12.   Sara Jane

13.   Main Street

14.   C.C. Rider

15.   Mister Memory

16.   Every Day I Have to Cry Some

17.   Rhythm of the Rain

18.   Hayride

19.   Gary's Groove

20.   Something Is Wrong

21.   I Saw Elvis Presley Last Night

22.   I'm on the Right Road Now

23. Great Balls of Fire 

Related Products