Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Gene Harris CD

$ 16.98

GENE HARRIS: Gene Harris/The Three Sounds/Gene Harris of the Three Sounds CD

• Early-'70s Soul-Jazz-Funk Essentials from the Legendary Blue Note Label Collected here.

• Time-Tested Collector Favorite as Selected by Chicago's Dusty Groove Record Store

• Newly Remastered

• Original Album Art

• New Liner Notes by Pat Thomas, Author of Listen, Whitey! The Sights and Sounds of Black Power 1965-1975

• CD Debut

A pair of hard-to-find Blue Note albums from soul jazz piano master Gene Harris! 1971’s Gene Harris/The Three Sounds is easily one of the hippest and funkiest records Harris made with his group the Three Sounds. Arrangements are by Monk Higgins – but the sound is even heavier than the Higgins/Harris work of the late 60s – and quite different than the straight trio material of their roots. Meanwhile, 1972’s Gene Harris of the Three Sounds has him stepping away from his previous trio and really shining as the lead man on the record. The session features Harris with some righteous work on acoustic keys, but getting a sweet electric vibe from Wade Marcus, who handles all the backings on the date.  A wonderfully soulful pairing – with great results throughout. Original art—including Of the Three Sounds’ gatefold portrait of Harris as cosmic piano player—with notes by Pat Thomas. CD debuts all around!


Gene Harris/Three Sounds

1.   I’m Leaving

2.   Your Love Is Just Too Much

3.   Did You Think

4.   Put On Train

5.   You Got to Play the Game

6.   What’s the Answer

7.   Eleanor Rigby

8.   Hey Girl

Gene Harris of the Three Sounds

9.   Django

10. Lean on Me

11. A Day in the Life of a Fool (Manha De Carnaval)

12. John Brown’s Body

13. Listen Here

14. Emily

15. Killer Joe

16. C Jam Blues

Related Products