Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Jesse Winchester CD

$ 12.98

JESSE WINCHESTER: Seems Like Only Yesterday—Live in Montreal 1976. CD 

  • With the Passing of Jesse Winchester a Year Ago, America Lost One of Its Great Singer- Songwriters
  • Winchester’s Early Career Was Stymied by His Exile in Canada as a Draft Resister
  • This Previously Unreleased Radio Broadcast Marked the First Time a Jesse Winchester Live Concert Had Been Heard in America Since He Moved to Canada
  • This Montreal Concert Was Also the First-Ever Live Show Broadcast Internationally on Stereo FM Radio
  • Features Such Classics as “Mississippi on My Mind,” “Brand New Tennessee Waltz” and “Yankee Lady”
  • Also Includes the Underground Radio Classic “Twigs and Seeds” and Such Sterling Covers as the Everly Brothers’ “Bowling Green”
  • Crystal Clear Fidelity and Fantastic Performances Featuring a Full Band
  • Liner Notes by Long-Time Winchester Fan Gene Sculatti
  • Added Photos
  • A Major Addition to the Jesse Winchester Discography and a Timely Tribute

With the passing of Jesse Winchester last year, America lost one of its truly great singer-songwriters, but here is an unexpected release that will remind both his fans and those new to his art what a remarkable talent he was. Seems Like Only Yesterday—Live in Montreal 1976 presents, for the first time anywhere since it aired, the 1976 radio broadcast from Montreal that marked the first time anyone in the United States had heard Jesse perform live since his exile in Canada as a draft resister began in the late ‘60s (it was also the first-ever live show broadcast internationally on stereo FM radio). And, in what had to have been an emotional occasion for Jesse, he rises to the occasion with a sterling set (featuring a full band) that included such classics as “Mississippi You’re on My Mind” (covered by Jerry Jeff Walker among many others), “Yankee Lady” (cut by Tim Hardin, Brewer & Shipley and Melanie), “Brand New Tennessee Waltz” and the underground radio stoner classic “Twigs and Seeds,” plus some beautiful covers of songs made famous by other artists, like the Everly Brothers’ “Bowling Green.” Crystal clear sound, liner notes by long-time Winchester fan Gene Sculatti, and photos help make this one of the year’s biggest singer-songwriter finds, and a timely tribute to the artist. Not to be missed!


1. General intro

2. Laisse Les Bons Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll)

3. Silly Heart

4. Tell Me Why You Like Roosevelt

5. Bowling Green

6. Midnight Bus

7. Everybody Knows But Me

8. Brand New Tennessee Waltz

9. Let the Rough Side Drag

10. All of Your Stories

11. Seems Like Only Yesterday

12. Mississippi You’re on My Mind

13. Black Dog

14. Twigs and Seeds

15. Isn’t That So

16. Yankee Lady

17. You Can’t Stand Up Alone

18. Blow On, Chilly Wind

Related Products