Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

John Hall CD

$ 16.98

Sure, various congressmen have dabbled in music, but how many congressmen founded a platinum-selling band?! Well, 2007-2011 U.S. Representative for New York’s 19th congressional district John Hall did…in fact, he not only started Orleans, but wrote (along with then-wife Johanna Hall) their two big hits, “Still the One” and Dance with Me!” Hall left the group in 1977 to pursue a dual-track career in music and political activism, co-founding Musicians United for Safe Energy along with Jackson Browne, Bonnie Raitt and Graham Nash, and releasing this 1979 album, whose environmental concerns come across loud and clear, especially in the title track and in the bonus single track, “Plutonium Is Forever” (which was featured prominently on the No Nukes concert album along with “Power”) that we’ve included. It’s late-‘70s, soul-dipped, radio-friendly, socially-conscious pop at its finest (with an all-star supporting cast that included James Taylor, Carly Simon, Tony Levin and Jon Pousette-Dart), to which we’ve added liner notes by Gene Sculatti that explore the one-of-a-kind career trajectory taken by this politically-minded musician. CD debut! 


1. Home at Last

2. Power

3. Heartbreaker

4. So

5. Run Away with Me

6. Firefly Lover

7. Arms/Half Moon

8. Cocaine Drain

Bonus Track

9. Plutonium Is Forever

Related Products