John Hammond Mirrors CD

$ 10.98

AUTOGRAPHED COPIES ARE NOW SOLD OUT but the regular version of the CD are still available.
  • John Hammond Was and Is One of the Great Bluesman of His Generation 

  • His 1967 Album Mirrors Devoted One Side to Electric Blues and One Side to Solo Acoustic Blues 

  • Playing on the Electric Side Were Such Luminariesas Band Members Levon Helm and Robbie Robertson, Mike Bloomfield, and Charley Musselwhite 

  • The Album Marks Early Appearances of Songs That Were to Become Staples in Other Bands’ Repertoire, Such as “Death Don’t Have No Mercy” (Grateful Dead), “Statesboro Blues” (Allman Brothers), and “Keys to the Highway” (Derek & the Dominos) 

  • Includes Tremendous Versions of the Robert Johnson Tunes “Travelling Riverside,” “Stones in My Passway,” and “Walking Blues” 

  • Liner Notes by Richie Unterberger Feature Exclusive Quotes from John Hammond Himself 

  • Remastered by Joe Tarantino 

  • CD Debut for the Only ‘60s Vanguard Album by Hammond Yet to Be Released in the Format 

The cleverly-conceived cover shot tips you off to the fact that this 1967 record—comprised of outtakes from sessions for his John Hammond, Big City Blues, So Many Roads, and Country Blues albums—displays two different sides of the great white bluesman John Hammond, one electric, one acoustic. The electric side features a backing band for the ages, consisting of Band members Levon Helm and Robbie Robertson plus Mike Bloomfield (on piano!) and Charley Musselwhite, while the acoustic side is just Hammond on guitar. There is little doubt that members of blues-rock bands both current and future listened carefully to this record; “Death Don’t Have No Mercy” (Grateful Dead), “Statesboro Blues” (Allman Brothers), and “Keys to the Highway” (Derek & the Dominos) all appear here, and indeed Hammond was friends with Eric Clapton and Duane Allman as well as with the members of The Band that play on the album. More importantly, however, Hammond lays a convincing claim to being one of his generation’s greatest bluesmen, especially with his takes on the Robert Johnson tunes “Travelling Riverside,” “Stones in My Passway,” and “Walking Blues.” This is the only Hammond album recorded for Vanguard in the ‘60s yet to be released on CD, and our Real Gone reissue includes notes by Richie Unterberger with exclusive quotes from John Hammond himself. A long-lost classic!

1. I Wish You Would
2. They Call It Stormy Monday (but Tuesday Is Just as Bad)
3. Statesboro Blues
4. Keys to the Highway
5. I Just Got Here
6. Travelling Riverside
7. Stones in My Passway
8. Walking Blues
9. Death Don't Have No Mercy
10. Motherless Willie Johnson
11. When You Are Gone
12. Rock Me Mama
13. Get Right Church 

Related Products