Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Johnny Mathis Close to You/Love Story (Expanded Edition) CD

$ 15.98 $ 19.98

Autographs are now Sold Out
    • Real Gone Music Continues Its Reissue Campaign of Johnny Mathis’ Classic ‘70s Albums for Columbia with Three Albums Offering Johnny’s Flawless Interpretations of Contemporary Hits of the Day

    • The First Release Is a Twofer Featuring the Albums Close to You and Love Story Plus Three Bonus Tracks

    • Mathis Teamed with Long-Time Producer Jack Gold and Ace Arranger Ernie Freeman for Close to You

    • Johnny Returned to the Songbooks of Burt Bacharach
      and Hal David (the Title Song), The Beatles (“The Long and Winding Road”), and Antonio Carlos Jobim (“Wave”) While Also Reinterpreting Hits by Ray Stevens, Buffy Sainte-Marie, and Even Columbia Label-Mate Santana

    • Includes the Academy Award-Nominated Movie Theme “Pieces of Dreams”

    • Love Story Was Produced by Gold with Arrangements by Perry Botkin, Jr., a Frequent Collaborator of Harry Nilsson

    • Johnny Brought His Silken Sound to Rare Tunes by Bacharach and David (the Top 40 AC Chart Entry “Ten Times Forever More”) and Carole King and Gerry Goffin (“I Was There”) as Well as His Friend Henry Mancini (“Loss of Love”) and Paul Williams and Roger Nichols (“We’ve Only Just Begun”)

    • Bonus Tracks Include Outtake Recordings of Bodie Chandler’s “Caroline” and a “Goin’ Out of My Head/Can’t Take My Eyes Off You” Medley, Plus the B-side of “Pieces of Dreams,” Mancini and Johnny Mercer’s “Darling Lili.”

    • Johnny Mathis Teamed with Superstar Producer Richard Perry (Nilsson Schmilsson, Ringo, Barbra Streisand’s Stoney End) for 1971’s You’ve Got a Friend

    • Fusing Pop and Soul, Mathis and Perry Tackled Favorites from James Taylor (“Long Ago and Far Away”), The Beatles (“We Can Work It Out”), The Jackson 5 (“Never Can Say Goodbye”), and Gordon Lightfoot (“If You Could Read My Mind”), Along with Two Tracks from Carole King’s Tapestry

    • Expanded Edition Features Eight Bonus Tracks Including Fresh Versions of The Four Tops’ Motown Perennial “Reach Out (I’ll Be There),” The Beatles’ “Golden Slumbers,” and the Classic “I Only Have Eyes for You,” Plus a Host of Rare Singles

    • Both Releases Remastered by Mike Piacentini at Battery Studios in New York

    • Rare Photos

    • Liner Notes by The Second Disc’s Joe Marchese Include Exclusive Quotes from Johnny Mathis Himself

    Johnny Mathis kicked off the 1970s with a series of albums that found the Voice of Romance reinventing the day’s chart hits in inimitably lush fashion. Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records are continuing the journey through the legendary singer’s 1970s catalog with an expanded, two-for-one compact disc
    release of the classic studio albums Close to You and Love Story. Johnny teamed with longtime producer Jack Gold and top arranger Ernie Freeman in 1970 for Close to You, on which he returned to the songbooks of Burt Bacharach and Hal David (the title song), The Beatles (“The Long and Winding Road”), and Antonio Carlos Jobim (“Wave”) while also reinterpreting hits by Ray Stevens, Buffy Sainte-Marie, and even Columbia labelmate Santana! This deliciously eclectic album yielded the Academy Award- nominated movie theme “Pieces of Dreams,” a top 10 AC hit for Mathis. It was followed in early 1971 by Love Story, produced by Gold with arrangements by Perry Botkin, Jr., a frequent collaborator of Harry Nilsson. In addition to the romantic “(Where Do I Begin) Love Story,” Johnny brought his silken sound to rare tunes by Bacharach and David (the top 40 AC chart entry “Ten Times Forever More”) andCarole King and Gerry Goffin (“I Was There”) as well as his friend Henry Mancini(“Loss of Love”) and Paul Williams and Roger Nichols (“We’ve Only Just Begun”). This expanded two-for-one release adds three bonus tracks: outtake recordings of Bodie Chandler’s “Caroline” and a “Goin’ Out of My Head/Can’t Take My Eyes Off You” medley, plus the B-side of “Pieces of Dreams,” Mancini and Johnny Mercer’s “Darling Lili.” Johnny at his zenith!

    1. They Long to Be Close to You
      2. Evil Ways
      3. Come Saturday Morning
      4. Yellow Days
      5. Pieces of Dreams
      6. Song of Joy
      7. Everything Is Beautiful
      8. The Long and Winding Road
      9. (If You Let Me Make Love to You Then) Why Can't I Touch You
      10. Wave
      11. Until It's Time for You to Go
      12. Caroline
      13. Where Do I Begin?
      14. Rose Garden
      15. Ten Times Forever More
      16. It's Impossible
      17. I Was There
      18. What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life
      19. We've Only Just Begun
      20. Traces
      21. For the Good Times
      22. My Sweet Lord
      23. Loss of Love
    Bonus Tracks
      24. Goin' Out of My Head/Can't Take My Eyes off You
      25. Darling Lili (From the Paramount Film "Darling Lili")

    Related Products