Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Johnny Mathis Raindrops Keep Fallin' on My Head CD

$ 11.98

Autographs are now Sold Out
  • His 60-Year Career Still Going Strong, Johnny Mathis Is One of the Greatest Pop Vocalists of All Time

  • But Most of the Albums He Cut for Columbia During the ‘70s Have Never Appeared on Stand-Alone CDs

  • Now, Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records Are Embarking on a 10-Release Journey Through Johnny’s Classic ‘70s Columbia Catalog

  • Each Release, Whether a Single-Album Release or a Twofer, Will Come in an Expanded Edition Featuring Rare Tracks

  • All Will Include Liner Notes by Joe Marchese Drawn from Exclusive Interviews with Johnny Mathis Himself

  • Remastered by Mike Piacentini at Battery Studios

  • Original Album Art

  • Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My Head Was Johnny’s First LP of the 1970s

  • Features Lush Interpretations of Then-Current Pop Hits Like George Harrison’s “Something,” Paul Simon’s “Bridge over Troubled Water,” and the Bacharach-David Title Tune

  • Produced by Jack Gold with the Orchestras of Ernie Freeman and Al Capps

  • Expanded Edition Includes Five Bonus Non-LP Singles from Mathis’ Return to Columbia Records

  • Sings Bacharach and Kaempfert Continued Johnny’s Tradition of Mining the Songbooks of All-Time Great Songwriters

  • Arranged by Long-Time Kaempfert Collaborator Herbert Rehbein

  • Complete Double Album with Five Bonus Tracks Including Bert Kaempfert’s “It Makes No Di erence” and Four Bacharach-David Tunes Featuring Their Very First Song with Johnny, “Warm and Tender”

  • First-Ever CD Release


Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records are proud to kick off a new series celebrating
the legendary Johnny Mathis’ classic albums
of the 1970s and onward with the first-ever expanded CD edition (and standalone U.S.
CD premiere!) of the artist’s very first LP of the 1970s. Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My
was titled after Burt Bacharach and Hal David’s Academy Award-winning hit from the film Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. On Raindrops, Mathis reinterpreted the popular hits of the day in his signature velvety smooth style, aided and abetted by the lush orchestras of Ernie Freeman and Al Capps, and the production of Columbia Records veteran Jack Gold. In addition to Bacharach and David, also represented by Johnny’s hit “Odds and Ends” and “Alfie,” the original album features his renditions of songs by Jimmy Webb (“Honey Come Back”), George Harrison (“Something”), Paul Simon (“Bridge Over Troubled Water”), John Barry (“Midnight Cowboy”), and Rod McKuen (“Jean”)—a true “Who’s Who.” The expanded Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My Head has been bolstered with ve bonus non-LP singles from Mathis’ return to Columbia Records circa 1968-1970, including Bacharach and David’s “Whoever You Are, I Love You” from their Tony Award-winning Broadway musical Promises, Promises; Bert Kaempfert’s “Night Dreams;” and Gordon Lightfoot’s “Wherefore and Why,” arranged by Harry Nilsson’s frequent collaborator, Perry Botkin, Jr.! The blues they sent to meet you won’t defeat you with this newly-expanded edition of one of Johnny’s most beloved albums!

1. Raindrops Keep Fallin' on My Head
2. Honey Come Back
3. Watch What Happens
4. Something
5. Alfie
6. Midnight Cowboy
7. A Man and a Woman
8. Odds and Ends
9. Jean
10. Everybody's Talkin'
11. Bridge over Troubled Water
12. Night Dreams
13. Whoever You Are, I Love You
14. For All We Know
15. Wherefore and Why
16. The Last Time I Saw Her

Related Products