Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Johnny Paycheck (2CD Set)

$ 21.98

  • Johnny Paycheck Was One of Country Music’s All-Time Great Honky-Tonkers and Most Incorrigible Outlaws 

  • Paycheck First Broke Through on the Little Darlin’ Label, Then Signed with Epic and Recorded a String of Big Country hits 

  • Take This Job and Shove It—TheDefinitive Collection Includes 40 Songs Featuring 32 Chart Hits 

  • Highlighted by the Big Hits “Take This Job and Shove It,” “She’s All I Got,” “Someone to Give My Love To,” and “Mr. Lovemaker” 

  • Liner Notes by Chris Morris 

  • Remastered by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios in NewYork 

Never less than authentic, and irascible to the very end, Johnny Paycheck was one of country music’s all-time great honky-tonkers and most incorrigible outlaws, one of the truly larger than life figures in a genre that’s full of ‘em. Paycheck got his break in the early ‘60s backing up George Jones (who appears on a couple of hit duets on this collection), then changed his name from Donald Lytle to Johnny Paycheck and recorded some cult classic hard country sides with maverick producer Aubrey Mayhew on the Little Darlin’ label. Nashville producer Billy Sherrill brought him to Epic, where he scored a series of pop-flavored smashes, but not even Sherrill could tame him, and by the mid-‘70s Paycheck joined the outlaw country movement, which suited his renegade temperament just fine. “Take This Job and Shove It,” “Slide Off of Your Satin Sheets,” and “I’m the Only Hell (Mama Ever Raised)” (all included here) were among his biggest outlaw sides. In the end, Paycheck succumbed to some of the self-destructive tendencies he celebrated in song and wound up in jail, but he left behind some of the greatest country of the ‘70s. Now, Real Gone Music has put together the ultimate collection of his seminal Epic recordings, 40 songs including a full 32 of his chart hits for the label featuring such classic tunes as “She’s All I Got,” “Someone to Give My Love To,” and “Mr. Lovemaker.” Chris Morris’ liner notes explore the life, music, and times of one of country music’s most colorful characters; remastering is by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios. Essential, real country!


Disc One

1. She’s All I Got

2. Someone to Give My Life to

3. It’s Only a Matter of Wine

4. Let’s All Go Down to the River (Johnny Paycheck and Jody Miller)

5. Love Is a Good Thing

6. Somebody Loves Me

7. Something About You I Love

8. Mr. Lovemaker

9. Song and Dance Man

10. For a Minute There

11. My Part of Forever

12. Loving You Beats All I Ever Seen

13. Keep On Lovin’ Me

14. Gone at Last

15. All-American Man

16. 11 Months and 29 Days

17. I’m the Only Hell (My Mama Ever Raised)

18. Slide Off of Your Satin Sheets

19. Hank (You Tried to Tell Me)

20. The Man from Bowling Green

Disc Two

1. Take This Job and Shove It

2. Me and the I.R.S.

3. Georgia in a Jug

4. The Spirit Of St. Louis 

5. Colorado Cool-Aid

6. Proud Mary (George Jones & Johnny Paycheck)

7. Friend, Lover, Wife

8. Thanks to the Cathouse (I’m in the Doghouse)

9. Look What the Dog Drug In

10. You Can Have Her (Johnny Paycheck & George Jones)

11. Drinkin’ and Drivin’

12. Fifteen Beers

13. (Stay Away from) The Cocaine Train

14. You Better Move On (Johnny Paycheck & George Jones)

15. Someone Told My Story (Johnny Pacheck and Merle Haggard)

16. I Can’t Hold Myself in Line (Johnny Paycheck and Merle Haggard)

17. Yesterday’s News Just Hit Home Today

18. D.O.A. (Drunk On Arrival)

19. In Memory of a Memory

20. The Outlaw’s Prayer 

Related Products