Keith Allison CD

$ 13.98

Keith Allison: In Action--The Complete Columbia Sides Plus!. CD

  • Keith Allison Starred on the TV Show Where the Action Is, and Worked with the Monkees, Paul Revere & the Raiders, Alice Cooper and Ringo Starr Among Others
  • His 1967 album In Action Was Produced by the Legendary Gary Usher (Byrds, Beach Boys)
  • In Action—The Complete Columbia Sides Plus! Includes 10 Columbia Single Sides and Two Rare Singles Recorded for the Amy Label
  • Singles Produced by Mark Lindsay, Terry Melcher and Larry Marks
  • Notes by Joe Marchese
  • Remastered by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios in NYC  

    Keith Allison took listeners “where the action is” on his 1967 Columbia Records debut LP In Action, packing its grooves with tunes from Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart (including “Action, Action, Action,” the theme to ABC-TV’s Where the Action Is, which featured Allison), Donovan, Neil Diamond, Ray Charles, and his future bandmates Paul Revere and the Raiders. On the album—produced by California music icon Gary Usher—Allison even introduced a future country-and-western staple in his own song “Freeborn Man,” co-written with the Raiders’ Mark Lindsay.  Real Gone Music’s first-ever compact disc reissue offers more action than before, adding twelve original mono single bonus tracks to the original eleven stereo pop nuggets.  These diverse 45s—ten rarities from the Columbia vaults and two ultra-rare tracks from Bell Records’ Amy imprint—boast productions by the likes of Mark Lindsay, Terry Melcher and Larry Marks, and songs by Bo Diddley, Joe South, Tommy Roe, Chuck Berry, Jerry Lee Lewis and the legendary Brill Building team of Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil as well as Allison himself.  Like "Freeborn Man," a couple of these tracks (South’s “Birds of a Feather” and Allison and Lindsay’s “Wednesday’s Child") would also get the full Raiders treatment on the band’s albums.  Taken together, the 23 tracks on In Action—The Complete Columbia Sides and More! show the many sides of this singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist who, besides being  the late-period Raiders bassist, worked with the Monkees, Ringo Starr and Alice Cooper. Joe Marchese’s in-depth liner notes explore the Keith Allison legacy; Vic Anesini’s remastering lets the music shine.


    1. Louise

    2. I’m a Believer

    3. Freeborn Man
    4. Lies

    5. I Wanna Be Free

    6. Colours

    7. Good Thing

    8. Action, Action, Action

    9. Catch the Wind

    10. Leave My Woman Alone

    11. Do It
    Bonus Tracks
    12. Action, Action, Action (mono single version)

    13. Glitter and Gold
    14. I Ain’t Blamin’ You

    15. Look at Me

    16. Who Do You Love

    17. I Don’t Want Nobody but You

    18. Birds of a Feather

    19. To Know Her Is To Love Her

    20. Johnny B. Goode/Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On

    21. Toad Jam Blues

    22. Everybody

    23. Wednesday’s Child


    Related Products