Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Living Guitars & Living Strings CD

$ 13.98

  • The Living Guitars and The Living Strings Were Each Part of the “Living” Family of Ensembles Created by RCA Producer Ethel Gabriel to Capitalize on the Success of RCA’s Living Stereo Series 
  • The Living Guitars’ 1969 Album The Joy of Christmas Set Beautiful Guitar Interplay to Bass and Drums for a Groovy Jazz-Meets-Easy Listening Sound 

  • The Living Strings’ 1970 Record The Sound of Christmas Added Electric Bass and Voices to the Patented Living Strings Sound 

  • Both Albums Are Coveted by Christmas Music Collectors 

  • Liner Notes by Joe Marchese 

  • Remastered by Maria Triana at Battery Studios in New York 

    Ready for another seasonal stereophonic spectacular? We at Real Gone Music are finally making available another highly coveted pair of holiday releases from the “Living” family of artists! These ensembles were the brainchild of RCA’s groundbreaking producer Ethel Gabriel, who promoted the label’s highly successful Living Stereo series with a series of sumptuous, pristinely recorded albums—each credited to a group with “Living” in its name—aimed at a middle class eager to give their newly acquired stereo systems a workout. Having released two albums by The Living Voices, now we’re turning to the other two big names in the series, The Living Guitars and The Living Strings, for a pair of Christmas classics that will put even 21st century stereos through their paces! The 1969 album by The Living Guitars features some sizzling fretwork over drums and bass on a series of Yuletide medleys; it fits right into that late-‘60s easy listening-meets-jazz niche of Henry Mancini, Herb Alpert, etc. And the 1970 album from The Living Strings is just a flat-out orchestral Christmas masterpiece, with some electric bass and an occasional chorus subtly modernizing the lush sound of the strings. CD debuts on both albums, with liner notes by Joe Marchese and remastering by Maria Triana at Sony’s Battery Studios

    1. Winter Wonderland/Sleigh Ride
    2. Oh Christmas Tree/Deck the Halls
    3. I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus/Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
    4. Jingle Bell Rock/Rockin' Around the Christmas Tree
    5. Parade of the Wooden Soldiers/Toyland
    6. lBlue Christmas/White Christmas
    7. Silver Bells/The Real Meaning of Christmas
    8. Here We Come A-Caroling/Joy to the World
    9. Over the River and Through the Woods/Jingle Bells
    10. Christmas Is/We Wish You a Merry Christmas
    11. White Christmas
    12. I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day/Silver Bells/Out of the East
    13. The Christmas Waltz
    14. Winter Wonderland/Jingle Bells/Snow Bells
    15. Oh Come, All Ye Faithful/The First Noel/The Coventry Carol/O Holy Night
    16. Do You Hear What I Hear
    17. A Handful of Happy New Years
    18. Toyland/The Little Drummer Boy/Parade of the Wooden Soldiers
    19. Blue Christmas
    20. O Christmas Tree/Deck the Halls/The Wassail Song/Silent Night

Related Products