Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Man Revelation LP

$ 21.98

Like most “concept” albums of the period, Man’s 1969 debut release was a little short on continuity and, well, concept... but who cares when in the space of one wildly psychedelic side Revelation careened from the psychedelic pomp of “And in the Beginning...” to the banned-in- the-UK “Erotica,” which upped the ante on Jane Birkin and Serge Gainsbourg’s carryings- on with the sounds of a four minute-long female orgasm set to a fuzz-guitar freak-out!? Side two is only a little bit less intense, with the coulda been/shoulda been single “Don’t Just Stand There (Come Out of the Rain)” a worthy successor to the Small Faces’ “Itchycoo Park.” Throughout, this Welsh band displays the twin guitar attack of Roger “Deke” Leonard and Mike Jones that led them to be compared to Quicksilver Messenger Service. But Clive John’s Hammond organ gives Man’s sound an extra texture that pushes them a bit in a prog direction, making Revelation exactly that (headphones highly recommended)! Real Gone Music is proud to give this overlooked late-‘60s gem its first-ever American reissue, in a “flipback” album jacket (flaps outside on back cover) that mimics its original Pye label packaging. Purple vinyl pressing limited to 1000 copies!


1. And in the Beginning...
2. Sudden Life
3. Empty Room
4. Puella! Puella! 
(Woman! Woman!)
5. Love

6. Erotica


1. Blind Man
2. And Castles Rise in Children’s Eyes
3. Don’t Just Stand There (Come in Out of the Rain)
4. The Missing Pieces

5. The Future Hides Its Face

Related Products