Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Petula Clark Natural Love--The Scotti Brothers Recordings. CD

$ 13.98

  • Petula Clark is One of the Most Internationally Revered and Versatile Vocalists in Pop Music History 

  • In the Early ‘80s, She Returned to the American Music Scene After a Brief Hiatus by Recording for the Scotti Brothers Label 

  • Her First Single for the Label,“NaturalLove,” Became a Pop and Country Hit 

  • Natural Love—The Scotti Brothers Recordings Collects for the First Time All the Recordings Petula Made for the Scotti Brothers Label 

  • Includes Several Petula Originals Plus a Version of “Edelweiss” from The Sound of Music,
    in which she was appearing on stage in London at the time 

  • Liner Notes by The Second Disc’s Joe Marchese 

  • Period Photos

  • Remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision 

  • A Missing Piece of Petula’s Distinguished Discography 

  • After achieving tremendous success as an international music star in the 1960s and 1970s, Petula Clark began a new phase of her American music career when, after a short hiatus from the States, she was approached by Scotti Brothers Records to return to the recording studio. Label owner Tony Scotti was a fan of Petula's work, and knew that she was capable of singing a variety of styles, including country-flavored tunes. Scotti’s instincts proved dead-on; the slick and twangy toe-tapper “Natural Love,” Petula's debut release for Scotti Brothers, not only brought her back to the Billboard Hot 100 and Adult Contemporary charts but also to the Top 20 Country Singles list in 1981. Its success set the stage for follow-ups: Petula's plaintive take on the western torch favorite "Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain" and a pair of pop ballads, "Love Won't Always Pass You By" and "Dreamin' with My Eyes Wide Open." Ironically, at the time Petula wasn't able to capitalize on or properly promote her renewed popularity in the U.S., as she was tied up starring in a record-setting revival of The Sound of Music on stage in London through 1982. However, Scotti Brothers did take advantage by issuing a single for the British market of Petula performing "Edelweiss" from the beloved musical—a song popularized by Petula's childhood friend Julie Andrews in the movie version. Now, for the first time, all of Petula's Scotti Brothers Records masters are brought together in an album featuring all eight single sides—including a pair of original Clark compositions ("Because I Love Him," "Darkness")—and three additional songs not originally released for a total of 11 tracks, several of which are making their CD debut. It's a missing cache of music from one of the most important and versatile voices in the pop world, with incisive liner notes from The Second Disc's Joe Marchese, period photos and digital remastering by Mike Milchner of SonicVision. Another all-time great female singer brought to you by Real Gone Music!

      1. Natural Love
      2. Because I Love Him
      3. Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain
      4. Love Won't Always Pass You By
      5. Dreamin' with My Eyes Wide Open
      6. Afterglow
      7. City of Dreams
      8. I Like What I'm Looking At
      9. More Love
      10. Edelweiss
      11. Darkness

Related Products