Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Ronny and the Daytonas (2CD Set)

$ 34.98

Better put a little more octane into your car stereo, because here come 48 tracks from Nashville’s greatest contribution to surf and hot rod music, Ronny and the Daytonas! “Ronny” was singer-songwriter-guitarist John “Bucky” Wilkin, who wrote their first hit, “G.T.O.,” while attending physics class as a senior in high school; his mom, country songwriter Marijohn Wilkin, then landed him a session with producer and former Sun session saxophonist Bill Justis that yielded the #4 chart smash. Justis became the group’s producer for their recordings on the Amy label imprint Mala, which featured Wilkin and a rotating cast of characters, the most prominent of which was frequent co-writer Buzz Cason. Though Ronny and the Daytonas never notched another hit as big as “G.T.O.,” their infusion of country twang put a unique spin on mid-‘60s surf ‘n’ drag music, and their use of strings and willingness to cut ballads alongside the requisite uptempo fare showed that Wilkin refused to be pigeonholed. His move towards a more personal style accelerated with the band’s move to the RCA label, where Wilkin assumed producer duties, culminating in the 1966 solo “Delta Day”/”I Wanna Be Free” single (included here as bonus tracks), which reflected Wilkin’s eagerness to embrace the folk-rock sounds that were in the air at the time. Now, Real Gone Music has assembled a 2-CD set that includes every single A and B-side (many of which have never appeared on CD) and unique album track recorded by Ronny and the Daytonas—just like the title says, The Complete Recordings! But even that title doesn’t really do the set justice; in addition to all the group sides we’ve included Bucky’s solo sides, two tracks (“Tiger-A-Go-Go” and “Bay City”) recorded under the moniker Buzz & Bucky, and four UNRELEASED tracks, all but two taken from the original mono tapes and remastered by Vic Anesini at Sony’s own Battery Studios. Notes authored by Bucky himself plus previously unseen photos drawn from his private collection round out the set. The ultimate look at one of the all-time great surf combos!


Disc One

1.   G.T.O.

2.   Hot Rod Baby

3.   California Bound

4.   Hey Little Girl

5.   Bucket “T”

6.   Little Rail Job

7.   The Little Stingray That Could

8.   Surfin’ in the Summertime

9.   Back in the U.S.A.

10. Hot Rod City

11. Teenage Years

12. Little Scrambler

13. Tiger-A-Go-Go (Buzz & Bucky)

14. Bay City (Buzz & Bucky)

15. Beach Boy

16. No Wheels

17. Sandy

18. Sandy (Instrumental)

19. Somebody to Love Me

20. Goodbye Baby

21. Hold Me My Baby

22. Baby Say No

23. When Stars Shine Bright

24. Be Good to Your Baby

Disc Two

1.   If I Had My Way

2.   Nanci

3.   Come into My Heart

4.   So in Love

5.   Then the Rains Came

6.   Antique ’32 Studebaker Dictator Coupe

7.   I’ll Think of Summer

8.   All American Girl

9.   Dianne, Dianne

10. Young

11. Winter Weather

12. The Last Letter

13. Walk with the Sun

14. Brave New World

15. Hold onto Your Heart

16. The Girls and the Boys

17. Alfie

18. 4-Cast She’ll Love Me Again

19. Delta Day (No Time to Cry) (Bucky Wilkin)

20. I Wanna Be Free (Bucky Wilkin)

21. Daytona Beach (Unreleased)

22. Hey Little Girl (Unreleased)

23. Chapel of Love (Unreleased)

24. Angelina (Unreleased)

Related Products