Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Stonewall Jackson CD

$ 14.98

STONEWALL JACKSON: Original Greatest Hits. CD

  • Stonewall Jackson Bucked the Nashville Sound and Recorded Some of the Finest Honky-Tonk of the '60s
  • The Definitive Collection, Featuring 24 Tracks Highlighted by "Life to Go," "Waterloo," "A Wound Time Can't Erase" and "B.J. the D.J." 

  • Notes by Colin Escott 

  • Photos 

Nothing ever came easy for Stonewall Jackson; his dad died before he was born, he ran away from home when he was 14, and finally made it to Music City in 1956 at age 24, just as the Nashville Sound was taking hold with its strings and choruses. Which, of course, was 100% opposite from the kind of hardcore, honky-tonk country that Stonewall played, but he stuck to his guns, and had a bunch of hits nonetheless, which is a real testament to how good this guy was. You’ll find the top two dozen tracks here, all original Columbia recordings featuring such #1 hits as “Waterloo” and “B.J. the D.J.,” together with a revealing essay by Colin Escott containing quotes from the man himself and photos. The definitive Stonewall Jackson collection, and it’s not even close.


1.   Life to Go

2.   Waterloo

3.   Smoke Along the Track

4.   Mary Don’t You Weep

5.   Why I’m Walkin’

6.   Life of a Poor Boy

7.   A Little Guy Named Joe

8.   A Wound Time Can’t Erase

9.   Leona

10. One Look at Heaven

11. Can’t Hang Up the Phone

12. Old Showboat (Live at the Grand Ole Opry)

13. Wild Wild Wind

14. B.J. the D.J.

15. Don’t Be Angry

16. I Washed My Hands in Muddy Water

17. The Minute Men (Are Turning in Their Graves)

18. Blues Plus Booze (Means I Lose)

19. Help Stamp Out Loneliness

20. Promises and Hearts (Were Made to Break)

21. Angry Words

22. “Never More” Quote the Raven

23. Me and You and a Dog Named Boo

24. Torn from the Pages of Life

Related Products