The Ames Brothers There'll Always Be a Christmas CD

$ 15.98

The Ames Brothers: There'll Always Be a Christmas--60th Anniversary Deluxe Mono Edition. CD


Made Up of Ed, Vic, Gene, and Joe Ames, The Ames Brothers Had a Unique Vocal Group Sound Composed of Four Bass-Baritones and No Tenors

Recorded 50 Chart Hits Including Three Number Ones and Six More Top Tens

Their 1957 Album There’ll Always Be a Christmas Became an Instant Christmas Classic

Arranged by Sid Ramin

Features Both Upbeat Seasonal Standards Like “Silver Bells” and “Santa Claus Is Coming to Town” and Sacred Songs Like “What Child Is This” and “O Holy Night”

CD Debut of Original Mono Version of Album (Previous CD Reissue Offered Rechanneled Stereo)

Expanded Edition Adds the Comic “I Got a Cold for Christmas” and the Jaunty “I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm”

Joe Marchese’s Liner Notes Feature an Interview with the Lone Surviving Ames Brother, Actor-Singer Ed Ames

Remastered by Maria Triana at Battery Studios in New York

Rare Photos

Another Real Gone Music/The Second Disc Records Christmas Find

On their 1957 album of the same name, The Ames Brothers proclaimed in song, “There’ll Always Be a Christmas” – and as it turns out, Ed, Vic, Gene, and Joe Ames had created a joyful Christmas album for all time. Now, their classic holiday perennial is coming to CD in its original mono mix for the very first time on Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records’ There’ll Always Be a Christmas: 60th Anniversary Deluxe Mono Edition. Between 1948 and 1960, The Ames Brothers notched a remarkable fifty entries on the Billboard charts, including three Number Ones and a further six Top Ten hits, and became one of America’s most beloved singing groups. Their distinctive sound – consisting of four bass-baritones and no tenor voices – can be heard at its most robust on There’ll Always Be a Christmas. Supported by the lush orchestra of Sid Ramin, the quartet delivered fresh renditions of both upbeat Christmas standards like “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” and “Silver Bells” and sacred songs such as “What Child is This?” and “O Holy Night.” This 60th anniversary reissue adds two bonus tracks to further showcase the enormous versatility of the group. “I Got a Cold for Christmas” is a comic novelty in the tradition of The Ames Brothers’ favorites like “The Naughty Lady of Shady Lane,” while “I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm” is a swinging romp through Irving Berlin’s wintry tune. All 14 songs have been newly remastered by Maria Triana at Sony’s Battery Studios in their original, new-to-CD mono mixes, while the liner notes by The Second Disc’s Joe Marchese are based on a brand-new interview with the only surviving member of the group, stage and screen legend Ed Ames. Filled with beautiful harmonies and rich arrangements of some of the greatest Christmas songs of all time, There’ll Always Be a Christmas is a heartwarming and nostalgic treat you’ll want to share with your family, and generations to come.

  1. The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire)
  2. Deck the Hall
  3. O Holy Night
  4. Silver Bells
  5. What Child Is This?
  6. Jingle Bells
  7. Good King Wenceslas
  8. The Night Before Christmas Song
  9. Santa Claus Is Comin' to Town
  10. C-H-R-I-S-T-M-A-S
  11. Go Tell It on the Mountain
  12. There'll Always Be a Christmas
  13. I Got a Cold for Christmas
  14. I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm

Related Products