Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

The Statler Brothers Sing the Classics CD

$ 11.98

  •  Nine Time Winners of the Country Music Association’s Vocal Group of the Year Award, and Country Music Hall of Fame Members, The Statler Brothers Are One of America’s Most Beloved Vocal Groups
  • Combining Country, Gospel, R&B and Pop (and a Little Bit of Comedy), They Transcended Stylistic Categories and Came Up with a Sound All Their Own

  • Oddly, One of Their Most Beloved Albums Never Went to Retail at All

  • In the ‘90s, the Mail-Order Outfit Heartland Music Created a Collection Called The Statler Brothers Sing the Classics for a Direct Response TV Campaign

  • Consisting of Favorite Pop Songs from the
    ‘40s Through the ‘60s, It Featured Performances Recorded by the Group Especially for the Project

  • The Album Was a Huge Success, Selling Hundreds of Thousands of Copies

  • But, Like Most DRTV Releases, It Was Only in Print for a Short While

  • Since Then It Has Been Probably the Most- Requested Album in the Statlers’ Voluminous Back Catalog

  • Now, Real Gone Music Is Bringing The Statler Brothers Sing the Classics to Retail for the First Time in a New, Improved Package

  • 2-CD Set Slimmed Down to a Less Expensive Single CD

  • Revamped, Updated Cover and Package Art

  • Liner Notes by Johnny Cash Scholar John M. Alexander Featuring Quotes from the Statlers’ Own Don Reid (e.g. “We Never Had More Fun Making an Album Than We Did Making This One”)

  • Starts Appropriately with “Memories Are Made of This” and Winds Up with “Goodnight, Sweetheart, Goodnight”

  • Eagerly Awaited by Both the Group’s Fans and the Group Itself!

Did you know one of the most beloved albums in the Statler Brothers catalog never even went to retail? Consisting of the Statlers’ renditions of classic pop songs from the ‘40s through the ‘60s, and featuring performances recorded especially for the project, The Statler Brothers Sing the Classics was a collection created by mail order outfit Heartland Music back in the ‘90s for a direct response TV campaign. And what a wildly successful TV campaign it was…Heartland ended up selling hundreds of thousands of copies. But, like most TV packages, the lifespan of Sing the Classics was short, and the album soon went out of print, prompting the group’s fanbase (and, for that matter, the group itself) to put it at the top of their reissue wish list for over two decades. Now, Real Gone Music is proud to present The Statler Brothers Sing the Classics in a new set that takes the same 24 tracks of the old, 2-CD version but fits them on to a single, less expensive CD, with new, updated cover art, added photos, and new liner notes by noted Johnny Cash scholar Dr. John M. Alexander featuring quotes from the Statlers’ own Don Reid. Starting with “Memories Are Made of This” and winding up with “Goodnight, Sweetheart, Goodnight,” this collection captures the Statlers at their warm, intimate best, with a track listing to die for. Indeed, one of Don’s quotes perfectly sums up the vibe of this collection: “These were songs we grew up with. They helped make us and our style. We never had more fun making an album than we did making this one.” A great listen!

1. Memories Are Made of This
2. The Great Pretender
3. Gone
4. Naughty Lady of Shady Lane
5. She Thinks I Still Care
6. I'll Go to My Grave Loving You
7. Moments to Remember
8. Chattanoogie Show Shine Boy
9. Making Believe
10. Tom Dooley
11. Love Letters in the Sand
12. Hello Mary Lou
13. Unchained Melody
14. The Battle of New Orleans
15. I Can't Stop Loving You
16. Bye Bye Love
17. Only You
18. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You
19. Oh Baby Mine (I Get So Lonely)
20. It Only Hurts for a Little While
21. He's Got the Whole World in His Hands
22. Bed Of Roses
23. Love Me Tender
24. Goodnight, Sweetheart, Goodnight


Related Products