The Supremes The Ultimate Merry Christmas (2 CD-Set)

$ 15.39 $ 21.98

The Supremes: The Ultimate Merry Christmas (2 CD-Set)


Led by the Legendary Diana Ross, The Supremes Are the #1 Girl Group of All Time

Their 1965 Christmas Album, Merry Christmas, Hit the Christmas Charts Four Times and Yielded Two Charting Singles, “Children’s Christmas Song” and “Twinkle Twinkle Little Me”

Also Featured Jimmy Webb’s First-Ever Recorded Song, “My Christmas Tree,” and the Christmas Radio Staple “My Favorite Things”

In 2015, to Celebrate Its 50th Anniversary, Merry Christmas Was Expanded as a Digital-Only Release with Nine Previously Unreleased Tracks

Now, Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records, in Conjunction with Motown/Universal Music Group, Have Cooked Up a Christmas Feast So Elaborate It Can Only Be Called The Ultimate Merry Christmas

50 Tracks on Two CDs
16 Previously Unreleased Tracks

21 Other Tracks New to CD Including the Complete Original Mono Mix of the Album

Also Includes the Album’s Original Stereo
Mix and a New, Never-Before-Heard 2017
Mix Premiering Previously Unheard Vocals and Instrumentation

Other Unreleased Tracks Include a Duet on “Silent Night” Between Diana Ross and Florence Ballard, and Diana/Mary Wilson Duet on “The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire)”

Curated and Produced by Andy Skurow and George Solomon, the Team Behind Motown’s Long-Running Series of Supremes and Diana Ross Expanded Editions

Newly Remastered and (on the Bonus Tracks) Remixed by Kevin Reeves

Liner Notes by Joe Marchese Include Commentary from Jimmy Webb

Numerous Photos and Memorabilia

The Ultimate Christmas Gift from the Greatest Girl Group of All Time, and the Christmas Release of the Year for Collectors

Diana Ross, Mary Wilson, and Florence Ballard—a.k.a. The Supremes—ushered in 1965 with the electrifying, era-defining “Stop! In the Name of Love,” their fourth of five consecutive, record-breaking, chart-topping singles. In that year alone, the undisputed queens of Motown released five sizzling LPs, including their only holiday album: the instant classic Merry Christmas. Produced by Detroit legend Harvey Fuqua with arrangements by the great Gene Page, H.B. Barnum, and Ernie Freeman, Merry Christmas was filled with joyful delights. In addition to The Supremes’ inimitable versions of yuletide favorites, it introduced Jimmy Webb’s first-ever recorded song (“My Christmas Tree”) and yielded a pair of charting singles (the Motown originals “Children’s Christmas Song” and “Twinkle Twinkle Little Me”) plus a yearly Christmas radio staple (“My Favorite Things”). This salute to the season quickly became a chart mainstay and all-time perennial. In 2015, to celebrate its 50th anniversary, Merry Christmas was expanded as a digital-only release with nine previously unreleased bonus tracks. Now, Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records, in conjunction with Motown/Universal Music Group, are proud to present a Christmas feast that is so bountiful, it could only be called The Ultimate Merry Christmas. This landmark release boasts all of the tracks from the 2015 digital edition and more, for an astounding total of 50 tracks on 2 CDs, of which 16 are previously unreleased and 21 are new to CD! The Ultimate Merry Christmas features the album in three distinctive versions: the original 1965 mono mix (which has never been on CD), the original 1965 stereo mix, and a brand new, never-before-heard 2017 mix premiering previously unheard vocals and instrumentation. And that’s not all! The additional, previously unreleased bonus tracks include a Diana Ross/Florence Ballard duet on “Silent Night,” and a Diana/Mary Wilson duet on “The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire).” The Ultimate Merry Christmas has been curated and co-produced by Andrew Skurow and George Solomon, the team responsible for Motown’s long-running series of Supremes and Diana Ross expanded editions, including the recent Supremes A’ Go-Go. It’s been newly remastered by Kevin Reeves, who has also mixed all of the bonus tracks. The digipak’s deluxe booklet features numerous photos and memorabilia, and The Second Disc’s Joe Marchese has provided new liner notes, including commentary from Jimmy Webb. The Ultimate Merry Christmas is loaded with timeless Motown magic; it’s the ultimate Christmas gift from the number one girl group of all time, and the Christmas release of the year for collectors!

Disc: 1

  1. White Christmas
  2. Silver Bells
  3. Born of Mary
  4. Children's Christmas Song
  5. The Little Drummer Boy
  6. My Christmas Tree
  7. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer
  8. Santa Claus Is Coming to Town
  9. My Favorite Things
  10. Twinkle Twinkle Little Me
  11. Little Bright Star
  12. Joy to the World
  13. White Christmas
  14. Silver Bells
  15. Born of Mary
  16. Children's Christmas Song
  17. The Little Drummer Boy
  18. My Christmas Tree
  19. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer
  20. Santa Claus Is Coming to Town
  21. My Favorite Things
  22. Twinkle Twinkle Little Me
  23. Little Bright Star
  24. Joy to the World
  25. Season's Greetings

Disc: 2

  1. White Christmas (Alternate Vocal)
  2. Silver Bells (Alternate Mix with Additional Verse)
  3. Born of Mary (Alternate Mix)
  4. Children's Christmas Song (Alternate Vocal)
  5. The Little Drummer Boy (Alternate Vocal)
  6. My Christmas Tree (Alternate Vocal)
  7. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (Alternate Mix)
  8. Santa Claus Is Coming to Town (Alternate Mix)
  9. My Favorite Things (Alternate Mix)
  10. Twinkle Twinkle Little Me (Stereo Mix of Mono Vocal)
  11. Little Bright Star (Alternate Mix)
  12. Joy to the World (Alternate Vocal)
  13. The Christmas Song (Merry Christmas to You)
  14. Just a Lonely Christmas
  15. The First Noel
  16. O Little Town of Bethlehem
  17. Silent Night
  18. O Holy Night
  19. Just a Lonely Christmas (Alternate Vocal)
  20. The First Noel (Alternate Vocal)
  21. O Little Town of Bethlehem (Alternate Vocal)
  22. The Christmas Song (Duet Version)
  23. Silent Night (Duet Version)
  24. It Won't Be Long
  25. My Favorite Things (Live)

Related Products