Vicki Lawrence CD

$ 13.98

Vicki Lawrence: The Night the Lights Went Out in Georgia--The Complete Bell Recordings. CD

  • Vicki Lawrence Was Discovered by Carol Burnett and Became a Regular on The Carol Burnett Show 

  • Her Recording of "The Night the Lights Went Out in Georgia" Became a #1 Hit 

  • The Album with the Hit Title Track Featured Songwriting by Vicki's Husband Bobby Russell, with Production by "Snuff" Garrett and Arrangements by Artie Butler 

  • Her Second Album for the Bell Label, Ships in the Night, Was Only Released in Australia and Makes
    Its CD Debut Here 

  • The Night the Lights Went Out in Georgia—The Complete Bell Recordings Also Features Two Non-Bell Single Sides and an Unreleased Track 

  • Notes and Added Pictures 

  • 25 Tracks Remastered by Steve Massie 

Carol Burnett wasn’t the only multi-talented regular on The Carol Burnett Show. Her protégé Vicki Lawrence (a.k.a. “Eunice” and “Mama”), actually did her one better by scoring a # 1 hit with “The Night the Lights Went Out in Georgia” on the Bell label in 1973. But Vicki’s big hit wasn’t the result of her talent alone. In 1972, she married the great songwriter Bobby Russell, who penned “Georgia” and hooked her up with the legendary producer “Snuff” Garrett and arranger Artie Butler. The combo clicked not just on the song but also on the album, which went to #51 on the charts. A year later, Vicki recorded another album for Bell, Ships in the Night, again with the title song penned by Russell and production by Garrett. However, financial problems at the Bell label resulted in the album being released only in Australia, and it appears here on CD for the first time. We’ve also added the non-Bell single sides “Old Home Movies” and “The Other Woman” and an unreleased track for a total of 25 tracks from this enduring performer. Notes and photos accompany…remastered by Steve Massie.


The Night the Lights Went Out in Georgia

1. The Night the Lights Went Out in Georgia

2. Mr. Allison

3. Killing Me Softly

4. Sensual Man

5. Little Green Apples

6. He Did with Me

7. (For a While) We Helped Each Other Out

8. It Could Have Been Me

9. Dime a Dance

10. Gypsys, Tramps and Thieves

11. How You Gonna Stand It

Ships in the Night

12. Mama’s Gonna Make It All Better

13. Who Broke Your Heart and Made You Write That Song

14. In Another Woman’s Arms

15. Take Me to Heaven

16. Cameo

17. Ships in the Night

18. Funny Girl

19. Makin’ Love in My Mind

20. Who Do I Call When I Need You

21. The Light on the Back Porch Door

22. You Are the Sunshine of My Life

Bonus Tracks

23. Old Home Movies

24. The Other Woman

25. I’m Glad I’m Not… (Unreleased)

Related Products