Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Bob Wills Way Out West (2-CD Set)

$ 24.99

Back in 2014, with its critically-acclaimed release of Bob Wills And His Texas Playboys: Riding Your Way'The Lost Transcriptions for Tiffany Music, 1946-1947, Real Gone Music offered folks a chance to own some of the most revered'and rare'recordings in the history of American music. Now, some seven years later, Real Gone is back with another 2-CD, 50-track volume of Tiffany Transcriptions from Bob Wills And His Texas Playboys. And guess what? It's every bit as good as the first! That's because Wills and his band drew from a seemingly inexhaustible well of everything from Wills hits to western swing standards to sentimental ballads to blues and hot swing instrumentals, all played on the spot by some of the greatest musicians in country music history. Here's a little background. In 1946 and 1947, Bob Wills And His Texas Playboys cut nearly 400 full songs for Tiffany Music, Inc., recordings that came to be known as the Tiffany Transcriptions. These recordings were distributed only to radio stations on 16-inch transcription discs, and were intended for airplay as part of a syndicated radio show featuring Wills and the Playboys. However, the transcriptions proved to be a financial failure, and Tiffany Music, Inc. folded by the end of the '40s, seemingly relegating the Tiffany Transcriptions to obscurity (and leaving over 200 recordings in the can). But these recordings were unlike anything else in the Wills discography; they allowed the greatest band in country music history to JAM. For decades, the Tiffany Transcriptions were more legend than fact. Finally, in the early '80s, Kaleidoscope Records began releasing a series of vinyl volumes of the Tiffany Transcriptions, followed by a CD release on Kaleidoscope and Rhino Records in the '90s. But those releases accounted for less than half of the songs recorded for Tiffany Music by Wills and the Playboys. Now, Bob Wills And His Texas Playboys: Way Out West'The Lost Transcriptions for Tiffany Music, 1946-1947 Volume 2 serves up another 50 of those long-lost Tiffany sides'some of which never were even released by the company on transcription discs'inside a package just like the first, a 6-panel DVD-style digipak featuring photos and memorabilia from the collection of Kaleidoscope Records co-founder Tom Diamant. The oversized booklet includes notes from A&R legend James Austin describing how Bob Wills became one of the first rock stars with testimonials from folks like ZZ Top's Billy F Gibbons, Asleep at the Wheel's Ray Benson, and Chris Isaak. And, just like on Ridin' My Way, the recordings are miraculously mastered by Bob Fisher to preserve their vintage sonic vibrancy while eliminating excess background surface noise.

Disc One

1. Little Star of Heaven
2. Who’s Sorry Now
3. Hoppin’ Lucy (Instrumental)
4. Silver on the Sage
5. Dream (When You’re Feeling Blue) (Take 2)
6. Smile, Darn Ya, Smile
7. Big Taters in the Sandy Land (Instrumental)
8. The Convict and the Rose
9. Cimarron (Take 1)
10. Cimarron (Take 2)
11. Please Don’t Leave Me
12. Till the Longest Day I Live
13. Sweethearts or Strangers
14. When You and I Were Young, Maggie (Instrumental)
15. I’m Free from the Chain Gang Now
16. When Irish Eyes Are Smiling
17. A Cowboy’s Dream
18. Got a Letter from My Kid Today
19. Stoney Point (Instrumental
20. I’ll Get Mine Bye and Bye (Take 1 Breakdown)
21. My Mary
22. Everybody Does It in Hawaii
23. You’re Tired of Me (Take 2)
24. There! I’ve Said It Again
25. Chicken Reel

Disc Two

1. Ole Buttermilk Sky
2. That’s How Much I Love You
3. Mississippi Delta Blues
4. Chi-Baba, Chi-Baba (My Bambino Go to Sleep)
5. What Is Life Without Love (Take 2)
6. When I Lost You
7. Spanish Fandango (Take 2)
8. Dusty Skies
9. Cool Water
10. The Waltz of the Hills
11. Home on the Range
12. You’re the Only Star in My Blue Heaven
13. It’s a Sin (Take 2)
14. Playboy Chimes (Breakdown) (Instrumental)
15. Missouri Waltz
16. Old Folks
17. Silver Lake Blues
18. For Me and My Gal
19. Foley Waltz
20. White Christmas (Take 1 Breakdown)
21. White Christmas (Take 2)
22. Durang’s Hornpipe (Instrumental)
23. Bob Wills and Clifton “Cactus Jack” Johnsen Introduction (Take 2)
24. Bob Wills and Clifton “Cactus Jack” Johnsen Introduction (Take 4)
25. Bob Wills and Clifton “Cactus Jack” Johnsen Introduction (Take 5)

Related Products