Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Doris Day Early Day—Rare Songs from the Radio 1939-1950 CD

$ 13.99

Wanna know - and wanna hear - how Doris Day became one of the biggest multimedia stars on the planet? This 24-track collection carefully culls Doris' finest and rarest performances from over a decade of appearances on the radio, where her star first really began to shine. First, we begin with a 1944 rendition of one of her signature songs, 'Sentimental Journey,' with the big band that really vaulted her into the stratosphere, The Les Brown Orchestra. Then we double back all the way to her very first radio performances with local Cincinnati bandleader Barney Rapp, who was the man who urged Doris Mary Anne Kappelhoff to change her name to Doris Day. After that, we're off and running with more mid-'40s appearances with Les Brown, 1950 duets on The Bob Hope Show with Bob ('Sunshine Cake') and Jimmy Wakely ('Slippin' Around'), and a lot more songs from The Bob Hope Show that reunited Doris with Les Brown, who served as the show's musical director. We've found period pictures galore for the package'which, by the way, was put together with the full knowledge and consent of the late, great lady herself'and have commissioned liner notes by Joe Marchese that chart the steep trajectory of Doris Day's career through these radio recordings. Remastered, like our other Doris Day rarities collections, by Mike Milchner at SonicVision'a perfect way to celebrate the Doris Day centennial!

1. Sentimental Journey
2. Little Sir Echo
3. I'm Happy About the Whole Thing
4. The Joint Is Really Jumpin’ Down at Carnegie Hall
5. Salt Water Cowboy (A United States Marine)
6. Take Me in Your Arms
7. Easy Street
8. Wonderful Winter
9. Along the Navajo Trail
10. I Wish I Knew
11. Sunshine Cake (with Bob Hope)
12. Slippin' Around (with Jimmy Wakely)
13. My Darling, My Darling
14. Hair of Gold, Eyes of Blue
15. A Little Bird Told Me
16. It's Too Soon to Know
17. Buttons and Bows
18. Havin' a Wonderful Wish (Time You Were Here)
19. Dear Hearts and Gentle People
20. Happy Times
21. Never Again
22. I Don't Care If the Sun Don't Shine
23. Savings Bond Promotional Spot
24. Ain't Misbehavin' (Hidden Bonus Track)

Related Products