Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Al Stewart Songs on the Radio Complete U.S. Singles 74-81 CD

$ 17.99

The Vietnamese Lunar New Year identifies 2023 as The Year of the Cat…and the timing couldn’t be better! Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records are proud to announce a definitive, first-ever singles collection from legendary singer-songwriter Al Stewart.  In 1976, Stewart took “Year of the Cat” to the top ten of the Pop and AC charts, inaugurating a run of timeless hits still heard on radio today.  Now, for the very first time, each and every one of the British troubadour’s seminal A- and B-sides from his halcyon period has been brought together.  Songs on the Radio: The Complete U.S. Singles 1974-1981 brings together 20 tracks which catapulted the artist from folk clubs to the mainstream.  Often in collaboration with producer-engineer Alan Parsons, Stewart bridged the gap between FM rock and AM pop.  He brought his passion for historical events and flair for lyrical invention to these singles originally issued on the Janus and Arista labels, including “Nostradamus,” “Carol,” “On the Border,” “Midnight Rocks,” “Year of the Cat,” “Song on the Radio,” and the record-breaking, chart-topping “Time Passages.”  And the B-sides (“Terminal Eyes,” “Sirens of Titan,” “A Man for All Seasons,” “Merlin’s Time”) are every bit as compelling as the A-sides!  Every track is presented in its original U.S. single version (most of which are new to CD and not even included on Stewart’s massive The Admiralty Lights box set) as newly remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision.  The deluxe 20-page booklet features Joe Marchese’s extensive interview with Al Stewart as well as rare photos and memorabilia.  As a special bonus, the unique U.K. single edit of Al’s signature song “Year of the Cat” is also included.  With vivid lyrics, captivating melodies, crisp guitars, and, yes, smooth saxophone, these Songs on the Radio celebrate the remarkable discography of a master musical storyteller. Limited edition of 2500…and they’re gonna go fast!

1. Nostradamus
2. Terminal Eyes
3. Carol
4. Sirens of Titan
5. Year of the Cat
6. Broadway Hotel
7. On the Border
8. Flying Sorcery
9. Time Passages
10. Almost Lucy
11. Song on the Radio
12. A Man for All Seasons
13. Midnight Rocks
14. Constantinople
15. Paint by Numbers
16. Optical Illusion
17. Running Man
18. Merlin’s Time
19. Indian Summer
20. Soho (Needless to Say)
21. Year of the Cat (UK Single Version)

Related Products