Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Grateful Dead: Dick's Picks 11

$ 47.98

GRATEFUL DEAD: Dick’s Picks Vol. 11—Stanley Theatre, Jersey City, NJ 9/27/72 (3-CD Set)

  • Two More Sought-After Volumes from the
 Dick’s Picks Series of Live Dead Shows, Both Out of Print for Years
  • Dick’s Picks Vol. 11 Was the First-Ever Full Concert from 1972 Released by the Grateful Dead
  • Features One of the Great “Dark Star” Performances with a One-Time-Only Segue into “Cumberland Blues”
  • A Perfect Complement to Europe ‘72
  • Dick’s Picks Vol. 9 Features Keyboardists
Vince Welnick and Bruce Hornsby Playing in Only Their Seventh and Second Shows, Respectively
  • The First Dick’s Pick to Feature a Show from the ‘90s
  • Peak Moments Include a Couple of Superb Jams, “Lunatic Preserve” and “No MSG Jam” 

Dick’s Picks Vol. 11 was not only the first concert from 1972 to be released in the series, but also was the first full concert from that hallowed year ever to be released by the Dead. At the time, it sparked some controversy—it seemed like (and still does!) every Deadhead had his or her favorite 1972 show—but as usual, compiler Dick Latvala came through with an (American) beauty, highlighted by one of the greatest “Dark Star” versions ever recorded, with a bonus of a one-time-only segue into “Cumberland Blues.” This volume also delivers an interesting set list marked by quite a bit of material from the debut solo albums by Jerry Garcia (Garcia) and Bob Weir (Ace), both of which had come out earlier that year. We’ve seen quite a few folks claim this album actually tops Europe ’72, but maybe a better way to put it is to say it complements it, with a bunch of new material added to the repertoire and a new, post-Pigpen line-up playing at a very high level on this side of the pond. Out of print for years!


Disc One

Set One

1. Morning Dew

2. Beat It On Down the Line

3. Friend of the Devil

4. Black-Throated Wind

5. Tennessee Jed

6. Mexicali Blues

7. Bird Song

8. Big River

9. Brokedown Palace

10. El Paso

 Disc Two

Set One (cont.)

 1. China Cat Sunflower

2. I Know You Rider

3. Playing in the Band

Set Two

4. He’s Gone

5. Me and My Uncle

6. Deal

7. Greatest Story Ever Told

8. Ramble On Rose

Disc Three

Set Two (cont.)

1. Dark Star

2. Cumberland Blues

3. Attics of My Life

4. Promised Land

5. Uncle John’s Band

6. Casey Jones

7. Around and Around

Related Products