Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Grateful Dead: Dick's Picks 35

$ 57.98

Grateful Dead: Dick’s Picks Vol. 35—San Diego, CA 8/7/71, Chicago, IL 8/24/71 (4-CD Set)

The story behind this volume of Dick's Picks is truly rich'Jerry Garcia gave the ¼' tapes to these shows to Keith Godchaux in order to familiarize him with the band's repertoire. Godchaux then left the tapes on his parents' houseboat in Alameda, where they remained for nearly 35 years until being discovered by Keith's brother in 2005! Despite the less-than-optimal storage conditions, the sound on this four-CD set (mastered in HDCD) is stellar, and the fact that these tapes were lost means that soundboard recordings of this tour were very scarce indeed. Includes the entire San Diego show and all that could be salvaged from the Chicago show, plus the end of the 8/6/71 show at the Hollywood Bowl.

(San Diego Set One)

1. Big Railroad Blues
2. El Paso
3. Mr. Charlie
4. Sugaree
5. Mama Tried
6. Bertha
7. Big Boss Man
8. Promised Land
9. Hard to Handle
10. Cumberland Blues
11. Casey Jones

(San Diego Set Two)

12. Truckin’

(San Diego Set Two cont.)

1. China Cat Sunflower
2. I Know You Rider
3. Next Time You See Me
4. Sugar Magnolia
5. Sing Me Back Home
6. Me and My Uncle
7. Not Fade Away
8. Goin’ Down the Road Feeling Bad
9. Jam
10. Johnny B. Goode

(Chicago Show)

11. Uncle John’s Band
12. Playing in the Band
13. Loser

(Chicago Show cont.)

1. It Hurts Me Too
2. Cumberland Blues
3. Empty Pages
4. Beat It On Down the Line
5. Brown-Eyed Woman
6. St. Stephen
7. Not Fade Away
8. Goin’ Down the Road Feeling Bad
9. Not Fade Away
10. Me and Bobby McGee
11. Big Boss Man
12. Brokedown Palace

(Chicago Show cont.)

1. Good Lovin’

(Bonus Tracks)

2. The Other One
3. Me and My Uncle
4. The Other One
5. Deal
6. Sugar Magnolia
7. Morning Dew
8. Turn On Your Lovelight

Related Products