Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Grateful Dead Road Trips Vol. 4 No. 3

$ 39.98

  • Real Gone Music Continues Its Long, Strange Trip Through Grateful Dead Concert Recordings with Road Trips Vol. 4 No. 3—Denver ‘73

  • 3-CD Set Never Before Available at Retail

  • Captures the Complete 11/21/73 Show at
    the Denver Coliseum, Another Great Night on the 
    Legendary Fall 1973 Tour in One of the Dead’s Favorite Cities

  • Also Includes Bonus Material from the Night Before

  • Recorded by Kidd Candelario and Mastered by Jeffrey Norman in HDCD Sound

  • Highlighted by the Unprecedented, 62-Minute Medley of “Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo”/”Playing in the Band”/ ”El Paso”/”Playing in the Band”/”Wharf Rat”/”Playing in the Band”/”Morning Dew”

  • 16-Page Full-Color Booklet Features Liner Notes by Blair Jackson

Denver was always one of the Dead’s favorite stops, and the pair of shows they played there on the hallowed Fall 1973 tour were a high time indeed. This 3-CD set—which has never before been released at retail—offers the complete November 21, 1973 show along with some choice excerpts from the night before, all beautifully recorded by Kidd Candelario and mastered by Jeffrey Norman in HDCD sound. Appropriately enough for the setting, the first set is laced with cowboy tunes like “Jack Straw,” “Mexicali Blues,” and “Big River” (a particularly good rendition), but the real revelation is the second set, which launches into an unprecedented and seamless 62-minute medley of “Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo”/”Playing in the Band”/”El Paso”/”Playing in the Band”/”Wharf Rat”/”Playing in the Band” (three times!)/”Morning Dew.” Wow! The November 20 material at the end of disc three is quite worthy as well, highlighted by an adventurous “The Other One.” The 16-page full-color booklet features notes by Blair Jackson. A keeper!

Disc: 1
  1. Me and My Uncle
  2. Sugaree
  3. Jack Straw
  4. Dire Wolf
  5. Black-Throated Wind
  6. Big Railroad Blues
  7. Mexicali Blues
  8. They Love Each Other
  9. Looks Like Rain
  10. Here Comes Sunshine
  11. Big River
  12. Brokedown Palace

Disc: 2

  1. Weather Report Suite:Prelude/Part 1/Let It Grow
  2. Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo
  3. Playing in the Band
  4. El Paso
  5. Playing in the Band
  6. Wharf Rat
  7. Playing in the Band
  8. Morning Dew

Disc: 3

  1. Truckin'
  2. Nobody's Fault but Mine
  3. Goin' Down the Road Feeling Bad
  4. One More Saturday Night
  5. Uncle John's Band
  6. Truckin'
  7. The Other One
  8. Stella Blue

Related Products