Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Little Willie John The Complete R&B Hit Singles LP

$ 19.98

THIS IS A PRE-ORDER. THE ITEM WILL SHIP BEFORE THE 10/01/21 STREET DATE. PLEASE NOTE BY PRE-ORDERING THIS ITEM YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR IT NOW. WHEN ORDERING PLEASE ONLY PURCHASE 10/01/21 ITEMS ON YOUR ORDER. IF YOU WANT TO ORDER OTHER ITEMS PLEASE ORDER ON ANOTHER ORDER SO THOSE ITEMS ARE NOT DELAYED. Please Note: The vinyl industry is experiencing longer turnaround times than usual. Expected shipping dates are based on encountering no unexpected delays due to manufacturing issues or shipping back-ups and are subject to change.

Diminutive in size but gigantic in stature, Little Willie John was a genuine architect of soul. Along with Clyde McPhatter, Ray Charles, and Sam Cooke, the visionary singer stood at the forefront of fusing gospel intensity to rhythm and blues tradition. And had he not died inside a Walla Walla prison at the age of 30, his name would likely be etched in the same soul Pantheon as his peers. Despite his abbreviated career, Willie cut a string of seminal sides for Cincinnati-based King Records from 1955 to 1961 that rank among the finest R&B waxed by any singer for any label of the period. It didn't matter whether the song was an after-hours blues ballad or an uptempo footstomper: Willie's agile, melismatic voice made the number soar. As Motown legend Lamont Dozier says in Bill Dahl's notes to this collection, 'Willie John was just an extraordinary talent. He knew how to touch you with a song, and he knew how to raise the hairs on the back of your neck.' Now, from Real Gone Music comes the definitive vinyl anthology for this overlooked soul superstar: 17 tracks that include every R&B chart hit! That means such landmark tunes as 'Fever,' 'All Around the World,' 'Need Your Love So Bad,' 'Home at Last,' and 'Leave My Kitten Alone,' all documented by liner note writer Bill Dahl on the accompanying insert. Pressed on yellow "fever" vinyl...an essential addition to any soul library!

Side One

1. All Around the World
2. Need Your Love So Bad
3. Home at Last
4. Fever
5. Letter from My Darling
6. Do Something for Me
7. Talk to Me, Talk to Me
8. You’re a Sweetheart
9. Tell It Like It Is

Side Two

1. Leave My Kitten Alone
2. Let Them Talk
3. Heartbreak (It’s Hurtin’ Me)
4. Sleep
5. Walk Slow
6. (I’ve Got) Spring Fever

Related Products