Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Tom Verlaine Around LP

$ 23.99

Tom Verlaine Around LP 1 Test Pressing and 1 copy of the Sunglasses Brown Variant, Limited to 30 Bundles. 1 PER PERSON/HOUSEHOLD.

THIS IS A PRE-ORDER. THE ITEM WILL SHIP BEFORE THE 07/12/24 STREET DATE. PLEASE NOTE BY PRE-ORDERING THIS ITEM YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR IT NOW. WHEN ORDERING PLEASE ONLY PURCHASE0 07/12/24  ITEMS ON YOUR ORDER. IF YOU WANT TO ORDER OTHER ITEMS PLEASE ORDER ON ANOTHER ORDER SO THOSE ITEMS ARE NOT DELAYED. Please Note: The industry is experiencing longer turnaround times than usual. Expected shipping dates are based on encountering no unexpected delays due to manufacturing issues or shipping back-ups and are subject to change. Images are mockups and may vary from finished product.

The true test of originality for any musician comes when you hear an instrument being played and you instantly know who’s playing it. For electric guitarists, certainly Hendrix qualifies; Page and Clapton, too. Maybe Eddie Van Halen before the legion of imitators. You probably have your own list, but to us, standing toe-to-toe (or pick-to-pick) with those legends is Television guitarist and solo artist Tom Verlaine. His self-taught, jazz-influenced style, largely devoid of effects, and vibrato tone (oh, that tone!) makes any Verlaine solo unmistakably a Verlaine solo. That he was quite an accomplished, idiosyncratic songwriter is just a bonus. Real Gone Music is very, very proud to announce that we have arranged with the Verlaine estate to release Tom’s last three solo albums on LP, of which this one, 2006’s Around, is the second. Around picks up the lofty mantle of the Warm and Cool album that was released 14 years prior with another set of utterly mesmerizing instrumentals, ranging from solo, almost raga-esque explorations (“Flame”) to post-rock vamps (“Balcony”) to abstract sketches (“A Burned Letter”) to the kind of indescribable, utterly gorgeous beauty that only this man and his guitar could pull off (“Eighty-Eights”). That’s old Television band-mate Billy Ficca on drums; bassist and original engineer Patrick Derivaz’s new mastering for vinyl will make this record sing and breathe along with you (and vice versa). Tom’s long-time partner, artist Jutta Koether, again supplies notes in the enclosed insert. Sunglasses brown pressing for this album’s vinyl debut!

A1. The O Of Adore
A2. Brief Description
A3. Rain, Sidewalk
A4. Shadow Walks Away
A5. Meteor Beach
A6. Mountain
A7. Candle
A8. Balcony
A9. Flame
B1. Curtains Open
B2. Eighty Eights
B3. A Burned Letter
B4. Wheel Broke
B5. The Suns Gliding!
B6. New
B7. Rings

Related Products